San Diego Division Contacts

We are the San Diego division of the American Heart Association and we can't wait to work with your! If you need more information on local events, volunteer opportunities, sponsorships and more please reach out to us.

San Diego Main Office: 858-410-3850


Leadership Team

Jennifer Sobotka - Executive Director, Jennifer.sobotka@heart.org

Teresa Contreras - Vice President, Development, Teresa.Contreras@heart.org

Eric Thompson - Senior Director, Communications and Marketing, Eric.thompson@heart.org

Jessica Newmyer - Senior Director, Community Impact, Jessica.newmyer@heart.org

 

Event Directors

Amanda Ferguson - Senior Business Development Director, Heart Walk, Amanda.ferguson@heart.org

Chelsy Clark - Business Development Director, Go Red For Women, Chelsy.clark@heart.org 


San Diego Division 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Chair : Dan Torpey
VP, Global Real Estate & Facilities
Qualcomm Incorporated

President: Thomas Hemmen, MD, PhD
Director
UCSD Stroke Center

 

Members at Large

Immediate Past Chair: Lee Rice, DO, FAAFP, FAOASM
CEO & Medical Director
Lifewellness Institute

Immediate Past President: Brad Schwartz, MD
Medical Director
American Medical Response

Dennis Dalangin
CEO
Critical Diagnostics

Rodger Dougherty, MBA, APR
Senior Director, Public Affairs & Brand Communications
Kaiser Permanente 

Karim El-Sherief, MD, FACC
Cardiologist
Tri-City Medical Center

Cynthia Goodman, M.Ed. Ed.D
Retired
Foundation for the Children of the Californias

Ramón Hernandez, DrPH, MPH
Associate Director – Center for Community Health
UC San Diego

Diane Hansen
President & CEO
Palomar Health

Salma Jutt, MBA
VP, US Global Marketing
Abbott

Christopher J. Larson, PhD
Adjunct Associate Professor
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute

Bob Maxwell
Executive Vice President
Layton Construction

Linda Niggli
Retired Senior Executive
Luxury Fashion Industry

Anitha Rajamanickam, MD
Cardiologist
Tri-City Medical Center

Ernesto Villanueva
Executive Director of Technology & Instruction
Chula Vista Elementary School District

Yameeka J. Williams, FACHE
CEO
Select Specialty Hospital- San Diego

Ethel Weekly-Avant, RN
Immediate Past President
San Diego Black Nurses Association

Matthew Zubiller
Chief Growth Officer
Smile Brands

David Zumaya
Founder
My San Diego

 

Emeritus Members:

Susan Mahler
Retired Principal